What's Your Number?

Oct 27, 2018

Welcome back this week! Last week, we talked about beingness over doingness. You might be wondering: "Well, what really is beingness?" It can be a number of things, but, to simplify it for this week, let's just call it our level of consciousness and your level of consciousness in this lifetime.

Then, the next question you might have would be: "Well, how do I know what my level of consciousness is? How do I measure that?" Well, fortunately, we have had somebody that has laid out what's called the Map of Consciousness, Dr. David Hawkins. In the last century, he put together his thesis on the Map of Consciousness and levels of consciousness in his book Power Versus Force. What he said was that there are a number of levels of consciousness, and there is a way to measure it. Let's go through what those levels of consciousness are.


As you see on the image here, there is a scale from zero to 1,000, and, at the very bottom, zero, which is not showing here, would be dead. Then, as you climb up from there, there are many columns, but just focus on the column that says "Level" at the top. Starting at the bottom is Shame at 20, and this is a logarithmic scale. In other words, it goes up by powers of 10 as you climb up, so your power gets stronger by orders of magnitude as you go up the scale. 30 is Guilt. 50 is Apathy. 75 is Grief. 100 is Fear. 125 is Desire. Then, at 150 is Anger. Anger is getting better because at least you have something that gets you emotionally stirred up to do something about it. Then, at 175 is Pride.

Then, you'll notice a dashed line at this line between 175 and 200. That's where Dr. Hawkins said there is a separation of the strong from the weak or the power versus force. Let's keep going up the scale. At 200 is Courage. 250 is Neutrality. 310 os Willingness. At this level, it means that you have a willingness to engage in the world. 350 is Acceptance of the way things are. 400 is where we get into Reason.

Then, there's another break point here at 500 because, at 500, you really enter into what my coach likes to call Love and above. Here are those stages of Love, Joy, Peace, and Enlightenment at the very top. You notice Enlightenment is 300 wide in terms of one of the bands here. One of the goals I think of life is to consciously work on improving your level of consciousness towards Enlightenment. We'll talk more about that in a future post.

Now, let's go back to that break line between 200 and 175. For most of human history, the planet has been below 200. It's not until recently that we've risen above 200 as a species on the planet, and this is opening up new possibilities for human beings as we come up the Map of Consciousness scale.

Now, as I said, let's assume there is a way to measure consciousness, and we'll cover that in a future post. Let's also assume that we can measure consciousness not only of individuals but that we can measure consciousness of groups of individuals, and groups include families, communities, towns, cities, states, countries, and even the world. Let's also say that we can measure groups of people with a common purpose. For example, you could measure the level of consciousness of a non-profit organization, a company, a government, or even a military. You can also measure the level of consciousness of works of creation like books, movies and things like that.

Einstein was measured by Dr. Hawkins to be at 499, and, if you look at the chart, you'll notice that 499 is the break point between Reason or that intellect which Einstein was one of the greatest people in history we know of that had incredible intellect. Einstein didn't quite break through to the level of Love. However, he did have some interesting things to say about consciousness. Let's look at a couple of his quotes.

The first quote from Einstein is: "A human being is part of the whole called by us "universe," a part limited in space and time. He experiences himself, his thoughts, and feelings as something separated from the rest, a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. His delusion is kind of a prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature and its beauty."

The second quote from Einstein is even more powerful relative to the map of consciousness. He said: "The world we have created is a product of our thinking. It can not be changed without our thinking. If we want to change the world, we have to change our thinking. No problem can be solved from the consciousness that created it. We must learn to see the whole anew." In this quote, Einstein was saying that we need to raise our consciousness to see the world differently than maybe we were seeing it for most of the human existence below the level of 200.

Where do you think that you calibrate on the map of consciousness? Your calibration is more like your heartbeat average. Sometimes, it's lower, and, sometimes, it's higher, but what is the average that you are carrying at most of the time? Dr. Hawkins also said very few people raise their level of consciousness in their lifetime. However, it is possible if you focus on it that you can raise your consciousness in your lifetime. We're going to be covering that in some future posts.

Here is a link to a list of things that Dr. Hawkins calibrated on the map of consciousness in his lifetime. Choose some time for yourself to look through this list. It's interesting. See if there are other things that you see when you review the list that you think, "Hmm. I wonder what that's calibrated at." I know I did that the first time I studied the map of consciousness.

That's it for this week. Next week, we're going to talk about how Dr. Hawkins discovered, really, a way to measure human consciousness, and we'll dig into that. In the mean time, have a great week!


Stay connected with news and updates!

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.
Don't worry, your information will not be shared.


50% Complete


Please provide your first name and email to receive Powerful Beyond Measure blog updates.